The Neighborhood

I was diagnosed with Fibromyalgia in June and had to quit my job in July when I got off medical leave. While on medical leave I lied in bed with no one but myself and my pain. I was horribly alone. So I started researching, and then I looked for groups of people with Fibro on facebook, and there I found people who had a sense of hope. Somehow I then found a blog post by @painydays that when I read it, made me cry. I wept with happiness, because, it was exactly what I felt about the diagnosis process. I read all of her blog posts in two days, and then I found @juliana12369 and her blog. Then I learned they did a podcast together! Sweet mother of Abraham Lincoln! I listened and watched… I joined twitter and lurked, and then, I dipped my toe in. Shock! The waters were comforting, and friendly. People who knew what it was like, who had been where I was at that point in time, and welcomed me with opened arms. Now, pretty well all of my friends, all the people I enjoy talking to, save for my husband, are chronically awesome, including my mother. And quite frankly, you guys are some of, if not the most compassionate, sympathetic, empathetic and understanding friends I have ever had. I love the Chronically Awesome community. I wish we had our own neighborhood, where everyone was within walking distance, our own gated community of lively Spoonies. It would be Awesome.

This post was written as part of NHBPM – 30 health posts in 30 days: http://bit.ly/vU0g9J

Leave a Reply

