Invisible Illness Week : 30 Things Meme

1. The illness I live with is: I’ll keep it simple with just one: Fibromyalgia.

2. I was diagnosed with it in the year: June 2011

3. But I had symptoms since: June 2011 was when it felt like a switch got flipped, but I’ve been struggling with pain for years.

4. The biggest adjustment I’ve had to make is:
Planning my trips, and having to slow down and not being able to do everything I used to. Before I could walk and do whatever I wanted to; now I need to plan ahead to avoid as much pain and irritation as possible.

5. Most people assume:
That I can still do the same things or am just giving up.

6. The hardest part about mornings are:
Waking up and getting out of bed.

7. My favorite medical TV show is:
House.

8. A gadget I couldn’t live without is:
My blackberry. It keeps me on schedule with everything, keeps me connected and helps me fight fibro fog. And since I don’t have a laptop, yet, it keeps me entertained while I’m stuck in bed.

9. The hardest part about nights is:
Falling asleep.

10. Each day I take __ pills & vitamins:
7 daily, not including and pain killers as needed. Oh and 2 puffs of my maintenance inhaler every day.

11. Regarding alternative treatments I:
Use heat, and am trying to find a massage therapist.

12. If I had to choose between an invisible illness or visible I would choose:
Invisible. I don’t want people thinking “oh she’s sick, leave her alone” or that I am only an illness.

13. Regarding working and career:
Had to quit my last job, don’t want to start my next because of extreme am hours that will mess with my sleep, but I have to try. I wanted to be a cultural anthropologist with a specialization in China and Chinese language. But I don’t know if I can continue going to school.

14. People would be surprised to know:
My outlook on life has somehow changed for the better.

15. The hardest thing to accept about my new reality has been:
I can’t do everything I want and some of my friends don’t want to find out what’s going on with me or even ask me.

16. Something I never thought I could do with my illness that I did was:
Still have good days and be in a good mood somehow when I’m in a lot of pain. And I still have my sense of humor, if not more so.

17. The commercials about my illness:
Always show women who are at least twice my age, so people think young people like me can’t get it.

18. Something I really miss doing since I was diagnosed is:
Doing yoga, being able to walk around the mall, go hiking and sit around and watch movies back to back.

19. It was really hard to have to give up:
My independence. I can’t travel far in the car, I am financially dependent on my fiance, and since I can’t do much I’m becoming isolated and afraid to go places.

20. A new hobby I have taken up since my diagnosis is:
Tumblr, twitter, listening to podcasts.

21. If I could have one day of feeling normal again I would:
Go for a bike ride, go to a movie, hike through the woods, anything.

22. My illness has taught me:
To be grateful for what I do have, and that I am stronger than I think.

23. Want to know a secret? One thing people say that gets under my skin is:
That if only I did this, or exercised more or that I’m giving up, rolling over, need to fight it, or that I’m creating a disability.

24. But I love it when people:
Take the time to see how I’m feeling, or how I’m doing, or just think of me.

25. My favorite motto, scripture, quote that gets me through tough times is:
Pain is inevitable, suffering is optional.
That which does not kill me better run like hell.

26. When someone is diagnosed I’d like to tell them:
Find the people who are truly worth your time and hold onto them for dear life.

27. Something that has surprised me about living with an illness is:
I can still be happy.

28. The nicest thing someone did for me when I wasn’t feeling well was:
Made me grilled cheese.

29. I’m involved with Invisible Illness Week because:
I want people to know that not every disability is one you can see.

30. The fact that you read this list makes me feel:
Like someone actually cares what I have to say.

Leave a Reply

